
COMPARISON OF THE WEST VIRGINIA PARENTAL LEAVE ACT AND THE FEDERAL FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 
ACT 
 

This chart compares and contrasts, in a general way, the provisions of the West Virginia Parental Leave Act (PLA) and the federal Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) and is intended to assist State employees and employees of political subdivisions of the State in making informed decisions 
regarding such leave. It is not a Astand-alone@ document and is intended to supplement federal and State laws and the Division of Personnel Family 
and Medical Leave Act / Parental Leave Act policy (DOP-23). It is important to note that an employer must comply with any employment benefit 
program or plan that provides greater family or medical leave rights to employees than the rights established by the FMLA; conversely, the rights 
established by the FMLA may not be diminished by any employment benefit program or plan. If an employee is eligible for leave under both laws, 
the employee is entitled to the greater benefit or more generous rights provided under the different parts of each law. The employee is to 
determine which benefit is more generous given his or her individual situation. Due to the complexity of these laws and their differing eligibility 
requirements, as well as their differing leave provisions, it is necessary that each request for family or medical leave be individually evaluated, and 
guidance provided on a case-by-case basis. For additional information, please view available guidance material on the Division of Personnel web site 
at www.personnel.wv.gov/agencies/Pages/Toolbox.aspx and/or contact the Employee Relations Section of the West Virginia Division of Personnel 
at 304-414-1853. 
 

PROVISION WEST VIRGINIA PARENTAL LEAVE ACT (PLA) FEDERAL FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT (FMLA) 

EMPLOYER 
COVERAGE 

Any department, division, board, bureau, 
agency, commission or other unit of state 
government and any county board of 
education. 

The State or a political subdivision of the State (example: a state is a single employer; a 
county is a single employer; a city or town is a single employer). All public agencies are 
covered by the FMLA regardless of the number of employees; they are not subject to the 
coverage threshold of 50 employees carried on the payroll each day for 20 or more weeks 
in a year. 

EMPLOYEE 
ELIGIBILITY 

Any individual hired for permanent 
employment, who has worked for at least 12 
consecutive weeks performing paid services 
within West Virginia for any department, 
division, board, bureau, agency, commission, 
or other unit of state government, or any 
county board of education in the state. 
[Excludes: (1) elected public officials and 
members of their immediate personal staffs; 
(2) principal administrative officers of any 
department, division, board, bureau, agency, 
commission, or other unit of state 
government, or any county board of education 

• Has been employed by the employer for at least 12 months (need not be consecutive 
months) 

 
- AND – 
 

• Has been employed for at least 1,250 hours of service during the 12-month period 
immediately preceding the beginning of the leave (include only those hours actually 
worked, i.e., paid leave and unpaid leave, including FMLA leave, are not counted)  

 
- AND – 
 

• Works at a location where at least 50 employees are employed by the employer (e.g., 
the State or political subdivision) within 75 miles. 

http://www.personnel.wv.gov/agencies/Pages/Toolbox.aspx
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in the State; (3) employees of County health 
departments; (4) a person in a vocational 
rehabilitation facility certified under federal 
law who has been designated an evaluee, 
trainee or work activity client.] 

LEAVE 
ENTITLEMENT 
(See Exhaustion 
of Paid Leave) 
Leave 
Entitlement 
(continued) 
 

12 weeks of unpaid leave during any 12-month 
period.    
The 12-month period is calculated on a rolling 
12-month period, measured backward from 
the date of leave use and the total amount of 
leave may not exceed the equivalent number 
of work hours the employee is normally 
scheduled to work in a 12-week period (e.g., a 
full-time employee is eligible for 480 hours 
and a 50% part-time employee is eligible for 
240 hours). 
 
As with FMLA, the workweek is the basis for an 
employee's leave entitlement and is not 
phrased in terms of a particular number of 
days or hours of leave, but rather as 12 
workweeks of leave based on their normal 
work schedule. Family leave may be taken 
intermittently when medically necessary. 

• 12 weeks of unpaid leave; employee chosen paid leave; or employer designated paid 
leave during any 12-month period. The 12-month period shall be calculated on a 
rolling 12-month period, measured backward from the date of leave use. 
 

• 26 weeks of unpaid leave; employee chosen paid leave; or employer designated paid 
leave to care for a covered service member in a single 12-month period. The 12-
month period for FMLA military caregiver leave requires the leave period to be based 
upon the first day the employee uses leave, measured forward. 

 
The workweek is the basis for an employee's leave entitlement and is not phrased in 
terms of a particular number of days or hours of leave, but rather as 12 workweeks of 
leave. Thus, if there is a holiday in a week when an employee is on leave for the full week, 
the employee is still charged with a week of leave. Similarly, if an employee normally 
works a 50-hour workweek, the employee's statutory entitlement is not capped at 480 
hours. Thus, the focus is always on the workweek, and the employee's "normal" 
workweek (hours/days per week) prior to the start of FMLA leave is the controlling factor. 
 
Spouses employed by the same employer may be limited to a combined total of 12 
workweeks of family leave for the following reasons: 
 

• birth and care of a child; the placement of a child for adoption or for foster care, and 
to care for the newly-placed child 

 

• To care for an employee’s parent who has a serious health condition. 
 
Spouses employed by the same employer may be limited to a combined total of 26 
workweeks of military caregiver leave. 

QUALIFYING 
EVENTS  

• Birth of employee’s child 
 

• Birth and care of employee’s newborn child or placement of a child with employee 
for adoption or foster care and to care for the newly placed child (entitlement expires 
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• Placement of child with employee for 
adoption 

 

• To care for employee’s child, spouse, 
parent, or dependent who has a serious 
health condition (dependent is defined as 
any person living with or dependent on 
the income of the employee, whether 
related by blood or not) 

at the end of the 12-month period beginning on the date of the birth or placement). 
 

• Care for an immediate family member (spouse, child, or parent) with a serious health 
condition. 

 

• Employee is unable to work because of his or her own serious health condition. 
 

• Care for an eligible military member who suffered a serious injury/illness in the line 
of duty while on active duty for which he or she is undergoing medical treatment, 
recuperation, or therapy OR qualifying exigencies arising out of the fact that the 
employees’ spouse, son, daughter, or parent is on active duty during the deployment 
to a foreign country or call to active duty status as a member of the National Guard, 
Reserves or Armed Forces. 

INDIVIDUALS 
FOR WHOM 
LEAVE MAY BE 
TAKEN 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 

• Son or Daughter - a biological, adopted or 
foster child; a stepchild; or, a legal ward 
who is: (1) under age 18; or, (2) age 18 or 
older and incapable of self-care because of 
mental or physical disability 

 

• Spouse - any person legally married to an 
employee covered by the PLA 

 

• Parent - a biological, foster or adoptive 
parent, a stepparent or a legal guardian 

 

• Dependent - any person who is living with 
or dependent on the income of any 
employee, whether related by blood or 
not 

 

• Employee - No such provision in PLA, but 
may qualify for Medical Leave of Absence 
Without Pay under W. VA. CODE R. ' 143-1-
14.8(c) 

• Son or Daughter - a biological, adopted or foster child; a stepchild; a legal ward; or, a 
child of a person standing in loco parentis who is: (1) under age 18; or, (2) age 18 or 
older and incapable of self-care because of mental or physical disability. 

 

• Son or Daughter (for military related leave): Biological, adopted, foster or step child, 
a legal ward or a child of a person standing “in loco parentis.” May be of any age. 

 

• Spouse - a husband or wife as defined or recognized under state law for purposes of 
marriage in the state where the employee resides. 

 

• Parent - a biological parent or an individual who stands or stood in loco parentis to 
an employee when the employee was a son or daughter. 

 

• Dependent - No such provision in FMLA. 
 

• Employee - individual who meets eligibility criteria. 
 

• Military Member – (a) Current member of Regular Armed Forces, including members 
of National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, 
or therapy, is otherwise in outpatient status, or is otherwise on the temporary 
disability retired list, for a serious injury or illness incurred in the line of duty on active 
duty, or injuries and illnesses that existed before the beginning of the member’s 
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active duty and were aggravated by service in the line of duty on active duty in the 
Armed Forces or, (b) a covered veteran who is undergoing medical treatment, 
recuperation, or therapy, for a serious injury or illness as designated by the Secretary 
of Labor that was incurred by the member in line of duty on active duty in the Regular 
Armed Forces (or existed before the beginning of the member's active duty and was 
aggravated by service in line of duty on active duty in the Regular Armed Forces) and 
who was a member of the Regular Armed Forces (including a member of the National 
Guard or Reserves) at any time during the period of 5 years preceding the date on 
which the veteran undergoes that medical treatment, recuperation, or therapy.  

EXHAUSTION 
OF PAID LEAVE 

The employee is required to exhaust all annual 
and family sick leave prior to taking unpaid 
leave. 

Appropriate, available paid sick and annual leave shall be utilized to cover leave taken for 
FMLA qualifying events 
 

• Paid sick leave may only be used for the employee’s own serious health condition; 
the 80 hours of paid family sick leave may be used for a family member. 

  

• The paid leave shall run concurrently with the employee’s entitlement to unpaid 
FMLA leave starting on the date the agency provides the required notice.  

INTERMITTENT 
LEAVE 

Leave may be taken on a part-time basis and 
on a part-time leave schedule provided such 
leave does not exceed 12 consecutive months 
and does not unduly disrupt the employer’s 
operations. 

• Intermittent/reduced schedule leave may be taken when medically necessary for 
planned and/or unanticipated medical treatment or for recovery from treatment of 
or recovery from a serious health condition of the employee’s seriously ill child, 
spouse or parent, or because of the employee's own serious health condition. 

  

• It may also be taken to provide care or psychological comfort to an employee’s child, 
spouse, or parent with a serious health condition. Intermittent leave must be 
scheduled so as not to unduly disrupt the employer’s operations, subject to the 
approval of the employee’s health care provider. 

 

• Intermittent leave may be taken for qualifying exigency military FMLA leave 
purposes. 

 

• Intermittent/reduced schedule leave may be taken after the birth or placement of a 
child for adoption or foster care only with the employer's approval; however, such 
approval is not necessary for intermittent leave during which the mother has a 
serious health condition in connection with the birth or if the newborn child has a 
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serious health condition.  

SERIOUS 
HEALTH 
CONDITION 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Serious Health 
Condition 
(continued) 

A physical or mental illness, injury, or 
impairment that involves: 
 

• inpatient care in a hospital, hospice or 
residential health care facility 

 

• continuing treatment, health care or 
continuing supervision by a health 
care provider 

An illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental impairment that involves: 
 

• any period of incapacity or treatment connected with inpatient care (i.e., an 
overnight stay) in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care facility; 

 

• any period of incapacity due to pregnancy, or for prenatal care; 
 

• any period of incapacity (or treatment therefore) due to a chronic serious health 
condition (e.g., asthma, diabetes, epilepsy, etc.). The employee must visit a health 
care provider at least 2 times per year to qualify under this provision; 

 

• a period of incapacity that is permanent or long-term due to a condition for which 
treatment may not be effective (e.g., Alzheimer’s, stroke, terminal diseases, etc.); 
and/or, 

 

• any absences to receive multiple treatments (including any period of recovery 
therefrom) by, or on referral by, a health care provider for a condition that likely 
would result in incapacity of more than 3 consecutive days if left untreated (e.g., 
chemotherapy, physical therapy, dialysis, etc.).  

 

• a period of incapacity requiring absence of more than 3 consecutive full calendar days 
from work, school, or other regular daily activities, and any subsequent treatment or 
period of incapacity relating to the same condition, that also involves: 

 
(1) treatment two or more times, within 30 days of the first day of incapacity, 
unless extenuating circumstances exist; or, 

(2) treatment by a health care provider on at least one occasion, which results in 
a regimen of continuing treatment under the supervision of the health care 
provider. 

In order to qualify for leave under this provision, the employee or family member must 
visit a health care provider within 7 days of the first day of incapacity and visit(s) must be 
in-person. 
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CERTIFICATION 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Certification 
(continued) 

The certification is sufficient if it contains the 
following: 
 

• a statement that the child, spouse, parent, 
or dependent has a serious health 
condition 

 

• the date the serious health condition 
commenced and its probable duration 

 

• the medical facts regarding the serious 
health condition 

Reference W. VA. CODE R. '143-1-14(g) and applicable DOP certifications forms. 
 
If an employee submits a complete certification signed by the health care provider, the 
employer may not request additional information from the employee’s health care 
provider. However, the employer may contact the health care provider for purposes of 
clarification and authentication of the medical certification (whether initial certification 
or decertification) after the employer has given the employee an opportunity to cure any 
deficiencies. 
 
To make such contact, the employer must use a health care provider, human resources 
professional, leave administrator, or management official. Under no circumstances, 
however, should the employee’s direct supervisor contact the employee’s health care 
provider. Information beyond what is required on the certification form may not be 
solicited. Employers may send summaries of the employee’s intermittent absences to the 
health care provider to confirm the absences are consistent with the condition. 
 

• Qualifying Exigency Military FMLA Leave Certification - Employers can request 
certification by having the employee provide a copy of the service member’s 
active-duty orders or using the prescribed DOP form. Employers may also verify 
with a third party that an employee met with the third party during qualifying 
exigency military FMLA leave. If the employee submits a complete certification 
supporting a request for leave, the employer may not request additional 
information as re-certification is not permitted. 

 

• Military Caregiver Certification - Employer must accept “invitational travel 
orders” or “invitational travel authorizations” issued by the Department of 
Defense to family members as sufficient certification of the need for military 
caregiver leave, at least until the order or authorization’s expiration date. 
Employers may seek authentication and clarification of the certification, receive 
second and third opinions, but may not seek re-certification unless the health 
care providers are not affiliated with DOD, VA, or TRICARE. 

• Recertification - Employers may request recertification no more than once every 
30 days for a chronic or permanent/long-term condition if no minimum period of 
incapacity is specified, or - if an extended period of incapacity was listed on the 
initial certification – until that period initially specified by the health care provider 
passes. In all cases, an employer may request a recertification of a medical 



PROVISION WEST VIRGINIA PARENTAL LEAVE ACT (PLA) FEDERAL FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT (FMLA) 

condition every six months in connection with an absence by the employee. 
Accordingly, even if the medical certification indicates that the employee will 
need intermittent or reduced schedule leave for a period in excess of six months 
(e.g., for a lifetime condition), the employer would be permitted to request 
recertification every six months in connection with an absence. Unless:  

1) the employee requests an extension of leave;  

2) the circumstances described by the previous certification have 
changed significantly; or  

3) the employer receives information that casts doubt on the continuing 
validity of the certification (i.e., leave abuse, suspected forgery, etc.). 
Further, employers can provide the health care provider with a record of 
absences and ask if the need for leave is consistent with the serious 
health condition. Requiring re-certification for qualifying exigency 
military FMLA leave is not permitted. 

ADDITIONAL 
MEDICAL 
OPINIONS 

No guidance is provided within the Statute. 
FMLA requirements may be used for a 
guideline. 

An employer may, at its own expense, require the employee to obtain a second medical 
certification from a health care provider. The employer may choose the health care 
provider for the second opinion and must pay for the examination, except that in most 
cases the employer may not regularly contract with or otherwise regularly use the 
services of the health care provider. 
  
If the opinions of the employee's and the employer's designated health care providers 
differ, the employer may require the employee to obtain certification from a third health 
care provider and must pay for the examination. This third opinion shall be final and 
binding. The third health care provider must be approved jointly by the employer and the 
employee. 

NOTICE BY 
EMPLOYEE 
 
 

Two (2) weeks written notice if leave is 
foreseeable because of birth, adoption, 
planned medical treatment or supervision. 

• 30-day advance notice of the need to take FMLA leave when the need is foreseeable 
(i.e., expected birth, placement for adoption or foster care, or planned medical 
treatment); 

 

• notice “as soon as practicable” (usually the same day or the next business day unless 
there are unusual circumstances) when the need to take FMLA leave is not 
foreseeable (i.e., because of a lack of knowledge, change in circumstances, or medical 
emergency); 
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• notice in compliance with the employer’s call-in procedure when reporting an 
absence under intermittent FMLA leave, unless there are unusual circumstances; 
and, 

 

• sufficient information for the employer to understand that the employee needs leave 
for FMLA-qualifying reasons, i.e., the reason for taking leave; if applicable, the family 
member for whom the leave is requested; the nature of the injury, impairment, or 
physical or mental condition that necessitates the leave; and the anticipated duration 
of the leave (the employee need not mention FMLA when requesting leave to meet 
this requirement but is required to explain why the leave is needed). 

NOTICE BY 
EMPLOYER 

Employers are required to post in one or more 
conspicuous places where notices to 
employees are customarily posted, a notice in 
a form approved by the West Virginia 
Department of Labor explaining employees’ 
rights under this law. 
 

• General Notice accomplished through posting the information in “conspicuous 
places” on premises. 

 

• General Notice to each employee by including the notice in employee handbooks or 
other written guidance to employees concerning employee benefits or leave rights, 
if such written materials exist, or by distributing a copy of the general notice to each 
new employee upon hiring. In either case, distribution may be accomplished 
electronically. 

 

• Notice of Eligibility and Rights and Responsibilities when an employee requests FMLA 
leave, or when the employer acquires knowledge that an employee’s leave may be 
for an FMLA-qualifying reason. The employer must notify the employee of the 
employee’s eligibility to take FMLA leave within five business days, absent 
extenuating circumstances. The notice must detail the specific expectations and 
obligations of the employee and explain consequences of failure to meet these 
obligations. Employee eligibility is determined (and notice must be provided) at the 
commencement of the first instance of leave for each FMLA qualifying reason in the 
applicable 12-month period. All FMLA absences for the same qualifying reason are 
considered a single leave and employee eligibility as to that reason for leave does not 
change during the applicable 12-month period. 

 

• Designation Notice designating leave as FMLA-qualifying, when the employer has 
enough information to determine whether the leave is being taken for a FMLA-
qualifying reason (e.g., after receiving a certification). The employer must notify the 
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employee whether the leave will be designated and will be counted as FMLA leave 
within five business days absent extenuating circumstances.  

 

• Only one notice of designation is required for each FMLA-qualifying reason per 
applicable 12-month period, regardless of whether the leave taken due to the 
qualifying reason will be a continuous block of leave or intermittent or reduced 
schedule leave. If the information provided by the employer to the employee in the 
designation notice changes (e.g., the employee exhausts the FMLA leave 
entitlement), the employer shall provide, within five business days of receipt of the 
employee’s first notice of need for leave subsequent to any change, written notice of 
the change. 

MAINTENANCE 
OF HEALTH 
BENEFITS 

The employee is eligible to continue 
participation in the group health insurance 
plan provided the employee pays the 
employer 100% of the premium costs. 

The employer is required to maintain the employee’s group health insurance benefits on 
the same terms as if the employee had continued to work. The employer’s obligation to 
maintain health benefits under FMLA stops if and when: 

• an employee informs the employer of intent not to return to work at the end of 
the leave period, or if the employee fails to return to work when the FMLA leave 
entitlement is exhausted. 
  

• the employee’s premium payment is more than 30 days late and the employer 
has given the employee written notice at least 15 days in advance advising that 
coverage will cease if payment is not received.  
 

As provided in the FMLA regulations, 29 CFR 825.213, the employer may recover 
premiums it paid to maintain health insurance coverage and other benefits for an 
employee who fails to return to work from FMLA leave. 

JOB 
RESTORATION 

The employee shall be returned to the position 
held immediately prior to the leave. 

The employee is entitled to be returned to the same position held when the leave began, 
or to an equivalent position with equivalent benefits pay, and other terms and conditions. 
 
If the employee is unable to perform an essential function of the position because of a 
physical or mental impairment, the employee has no right to reinstatement; however, 
employer’s obligations may be governed by Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  
 
“Key” employee exception - Under specified and limited circumstances, an employer may 
refuse to restore a salaried employee among the highest paid 10% of employees within 
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75 miles of work site. 

ENFORCEMENT The West Virginia Department of Labor (W. VA. 
CODE ' 21-5D-1 et seq.). 
 

The US Department of Labor, Employment Standards Administration, Wage and Hour 
Division (29 USC 2601 et seq.; 29 CFR 825). 

MORE 
INFORMATION 

To view the Parental Leave Act, go to: 
www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/Code.cfm?c
hap=21&art=5D#05D 

To view the regulations and obtain other Department of Labor information, go to: 
https://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/  

 

Revised: 4/2019 

http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/Code.cfm?chap=21&art=5D#05D
http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/Code.cfm?chap=21&art=5D#05D
https://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/

